Time is your friend

Like many people I’m getting to that age where the odd grey hair is beginning to appear. I’m not as young or slim as I used to be. But in truth I don’t mind because a wealth of memories belongs to those years that have passed and I wouldn’t want to give up a single one.
It makes me smile when people say they’d like to be a teenager again. I wouldn’t. I loved being a teenager but it was in a time and place so different from now, that it couldn’t be recreated again. Teenagers today deal with a far more aggressive lifestyle than I did. Thanks to the wonders of technology they are bombarded with social pressures and expectations, every waking hour of the day.
I loved my twenties and thirties and relished the challenges of motherhood. Nothing in the world could make me be willing to give up one of those days and now in my forties I have time to try new things for myself and there’s my beautiful grandchildren to get to know.
So the next time you look in the mirror and see a new line on your face or a bit of skin sagging, that didn’t before. Smile, congratulate yourself. You’ve made it this far along your unique journey through life and you’ve still got a long way to go. Time is your friend, welcome it, its only got new and exciting experiences for you to share.

One thought on “Time is your friend

Leave a Reply

