Music for the soul

image

Music can touch parts of us that nothing else can reach. In the same way as poetry and literature, lyrics can shape ideas and form integral parts of our self identity.
I believe we all have a soundtrack for our lives that expresses how we approach life and its challenges. The songs we pick say alot about our inner self and our hopes and dreams.
I’ve found myself resonating with many songs during my life but these are a few of the most influential lyrics for me.
The first three come from my favorite band Bon Jovi and sum up my attitude to life and its challenges.
Better stand tall when they’re calling you out. Don’t bend, don’t break, baby, don’t back down. It’s my life and its now or never. (It’s my life)
I’m gonna live my life shining like a diamond, rolling like a dice, standing on the edge I teach the wind how to fly and when the world gets in my face, I say have a nice day. (Have a nice day)
When your world’s crashing down like you’ve lost every round, stand your ground and ring the bells of Freedom. (Bells of Freedom)
The last is important to me because it reminds me of the values my mother taught me and it expresses the love and confidence I wanted to pass on to my own children.
When I feel weak and unpretty I know I’m beautiful and strong because I see myself like my mother does. ( like my mother does by Lauren Alaina)
Why not have a look at your own soundtrack and see what it says about who you are. You may be surprised to discover your braver and stronger than you think.

Leave a Reply

