Keeping novels on course

I find my biggest problem when writing is keeping the story line going in the direction I originally intended.
The problem is usually that as the characters develop my attitude towards them changes. Often I decide that the hero/ heroine wouldn’t behave in the way I originally envisioned.
So choices have to be made. Do I change the characters or plot?
Personally I change the plot. I now use a very flexible plot idea so that I can make changes without damaging the integrity of the whole.
Regular feedback is also a huge help. My youngest daughter and husband regularly read my work and tell me if it feels like its drifting off in to the hopeless unknown.

3 thoughts on “Keeping novels on course

  1. i don’t see this as a problem at all! This has happened to me, and it’s kind of fun not knowing exactly how your characters/plot are going to play out. That means you’ve probably brought your characters alive, and you’re just going where they take you. This is my opinion though 🙂 Good luck!

    Like

  2. Thanks Anthony to a point I agree except it’s not very helpful if you need to submit a novel draft guideline to editors for consideration. I try not to be too ridgid but without staying on track I could probably continue the story indefinately. I’ll definately take your opinion on board.

    Like

  3. The town is small and ancient, with clusters of fishing boats and inspiring sunsets
    across the harbor. Fleming had left his staphylococci cultures stacked
    on a bench while he was on holiday with his family. Centara Hotels &
    Resorts is Thailand’s largest operator of hotels, with 44 deluxe and
    first-class properties covering all the major tourist destinations in the kingdom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

