Does size matter?

I was reading an article today about book size being related to genre and I started to wonder which matters more size or content?
When I’m reading I prefer to read a well written, fast moving book over a long drawn out novel. I have a short attention span and loose interest very quickly with anything that feels like pointless chapters.
So as a writer how do you judge how much is enough? After some investigation I have discovered fantasies are mostly around 50,000 words, romances 80,000, family sagas and crime fiction over 80,000
Having gained this information I’m not too sure how helpful it was since I now find myself checking word count instead of concentrating on content.
My advise to any new writers would be, write your story to the best of your ability and when its finished its finished. Don’t worry about what everyone else is doing.

Leave a Reply

